

Lindau, 30 January 2019

# **Press Release**

# A Record of 42 Nobel Laureates to Attend the 69<sup>th</sup> Lindau Nobel **Laureate Meeting**

Never before have so many Nobel Laureates announced their participation in a Lindau Meeting on physics: from 30 June to 5 July 2019, 42 laureates will gather with 600 young scientists from around the world. Among the participants of the 69<sup>th</sup> Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting are the newly minted 2018 physics laureates, Donna Strickland and Gérard Mourou. Another eight laureates will come to Lindau for the first time, among them physicists F. Duncan M. Haldane and J. Michael Kosterlitz (Nobel Prize 2016), Rainer Weiss (2017) and the 45-year old Konstantin Novoselov (2010). The group of natural scientists is joined by the Yemeni Nobel Peace Laureate of 2011, Tawakkol Karman, who will participate in a panel discussion on the closing day on Mainau Island.

By rota, the programme of this year's Lindau Meeting is dedicated to physics. In accordance with the 2018 Nobel Prize in Physics, one of the core topics is laser physics. Additional topics to be discussed include dark matter and the standard model of cosmology as well as gravitational waves, which could be detected in 2016 for the first time.

The selection process for the young scientists is in its final stage: after more than 130 academic partners worldwide – academies, universities and foundations – have nominated their candidates in an internal application process and after the pre-evaluation by an expert panel has been completed, the final evaluation by the scientific chairpersons is currently in progress. The announcement of the results will take place in early March. The chosen 600 students, doctoral candidates and postdocs will have the opportunity to exchange with Nobel Laureates about current developments and future challenges in the field of physics and may present their research in a Master Classes or a Poster Session.

The Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings take place every year since 1951 and are designed as a forum for exchange, networking and inspiration. The meetings focus alternately on physiology and medicine, on physics, and on chemistry – the three natural science Nobel Prize disciplines. As every five years, an interdisciplinary meeting revolving around all three natural sciences will be held in 2020.

# Contact

Gero von der Stein Head of Communications gero.vonderstein@lindau-nobel.org www.lindau-nobel.org/press

# Kuratorium für die Tagungen der Nobelpreisträger in Lindau

Council for the Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings

# Ehrenpräsident | Honorary President

Prof. Dr. h. c. mult. Lennart Graf Bernadotte af Wisborg (+)

#### **Vorstand | Executive Committee**

Bettina Gräfin Bernadotte af Wisborg (Präsidentin | President) Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Lubitz (Vizepräsident | Vice-President) Prof. Dr. Helga Nowotny (Vizepräsidentin | Vice-President) Nikolaus Turner (Schatzmeister | Treasurer)

### Stiftung

# Lindauer Nobelpreisträgertagungen

Foundation

Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings

# Ehrenpräsidium | Honorary Presidents

Prof Dr h c mult Lennart Graf Bernadotte af Wisborg (†) Prof. Dr. Roman Herzog (†) Bundespräsident a. D.

# Vorstand | Board of Directors

Jürgen Kluge (Vorsitzender | Chairman) Bettina Gräfin Bernadotte af Wisborg Thomas Ellerbeck Reinhard Pöllath Nikolaus Turner (Geschäftsführer | Managing Director)

Wolfgang Schürer (Ehrenvorsitzender | Honorary Chairman)

# Geschäftsstellen | Offices

Lennart-Bernadotte-Haus Alfred-Nobel-Platz 1 88131 Lindau Deutschland | Germany

Tel.: +49 (o)8382 / 27731-0 Fax: +49 (o)8382 / 27731-13 E-Mail: info@ lindau-nobel.org foundation@lindau-nobel.org

www.lindau-nobel.org